You are viewing the archived website of Pond Dynamics / Aquaculture CRSP. When using this website, please understand that links may be broken and content may be out of date. You can view more information on the continuation of PD/A CRSP research archived at AquaFish Innovation Lab.
Appendix 2. Program Participants
PD/A CRSP Nineteenth Annual Administrative Report

Previous Section Table of Contents Next Section

Appendix 2. Program Participants

The Pond Dynamics/Aquaculture CRSP represents the joint efforts of more than 75 professional and support personnel from US universities. It also represents the collaborative efforts of over 45 scientists, technicians, and students from project sites in six host countries—Mexico, Honduras, Peru, Kenya, the Philippines, and Thailand. The expertise of host country and US personnel is broad-based and encompasses the major fields of specialization included in this CRSP: limnology and water quality; fisheries and aquaculture; soil science; engineering; information systems; data management, analysis, and modeling; endocrinology; genetics; environmental hazard management; sociology; agricultural economics; policy development; adult education; and research administration.

The program's US-based participants are drawn from the CRSP partner institutions—Auburn University (AU), Florida International University, The Ohio State University, Oregon State University (OSU), Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB), the University of Arizona (UA), the University of Georgia, the University of Hawaii, The University of Michigan (UM), and the University of Oklahoma.

Host country staff participate in the PD/A CRSP through their involvement with:

Universidad Juárez Autónoma de Tabasco, Villahermosa, Mexico
Escuela Agrícola Panamericana El Zamorano (Zamorano), Honduras
Instituto de Investigaciones de la Amazonia Peruana, Iquitos, Peru
Universidad Nacional de la Amazonia Peruana, Iquitos, Peru
Fisheries Department, Nairobi, Kenya
Kenyatta University, Nairobi, Kenya
Moi University, Eldoret, Kenya
Nyanchwa College of Science and Technology, Kisii, Kenya
Sagana Fish Farm, Sagana, Kenya
University of Nairobi, Kenya
Bunda College, Lilongwe, Malawi
International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management (ICLARM), Zomba, Malawi
Central Luzon State University, Muñoz, Nueva Ecija, Philippines
Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Pathumthani, Thailand

Researchers and research project staff are named within each research project report in the body of this report. Following are listings for staff of the Program Management Office as well as members of the program's three advisory groups—Board of Directors, External Evaluation Panel, and Technical Committee.

Program Management Office


Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon

Hillary Egna Director
Danielle Clair Assistant Director of Operations
Cormac Craven Assistant Director of Research
Joan Westfall Office Manager
Pamela Buitrago Faculty Research Assistant (from March 2001)
John Hayes Graduate Research Assistant (Uruguay/USA; through June 2001; CRSP funded)
Heidi Furtado Undergraduate Student Worker (from March 2001)
Kelli Lewis Undergraduate Student Worker (October 2000 through June 2001)
Katy Lloyd Undergraduate Student Worker (from June 2001)

United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Washington, DC

Harry Rea Cognizant Technical Officer

Advisory Bodies

Board of Directors Institution
Dennis Balogu, Chair University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
L.J. (Kelvin) Koong Oregon State University (through December 2000)
Stephanie Sanford Oregon State University (from February 2001)
T.H. Lee Williams University of Oklahoma
Anthony Young Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Ex-Officio Board Members
Harry Rea USAID
Hillary Egna Oregon State University

External Evaluation Panel Affiliation
Christine Crawford University of Tasmania, Australia
Dave Cummins University of Georgia
Kevan Main, Chair Mote Marine Laboratory, Sarasota, Florida
Edna McBreen University of Connecticut, Tarrington

Technical Committee* Institution
Jim Diana UM
Kevin Fitzsimmons UA
Material and Methods Subcommittee Research Area of Expertise
Claude Boyd AU Production optimization
Freddy Arias Zamorano Social and economic aspects
Yang Yi AIT Environmental effects
Technical Progress Subcommittee
Joe Molnar AU Social and economic aspects
Amrit Bart AIT Environmental effects
Jim Bowman OSU Production optimization
Work Plan and Budget Subcommittee
Tom Popma AU Production optimization
Carole Engle UAPB Social and economic aspects
Wilfrido Contreras-Sánchez OSU Environmental effects
External At-Large Member
Damon Seawright US tilapia producer
Ex-Officio Members
Harry Rea USAID
Hillary Egna OSU
Cormac Craven OSU

* Membership as of 2001 Technical Committee election; see Eighteenth Annual Administrative Report for previous roster. Subcommittee members are listed in order of seniority.

Previous Section Table of Contents Next Section